Reinvented Cinnamon Roll

14 Oct
I woke up today feeling pretty stinky. My stomach was hurting, so I rolled over voting to not go to class (Thank goodness all we do in my classes is go over powerpoints..gotta love college). After sleeping a little longer my stomach gave me and break and I watched a little Sex & the City (guilty pleasure).

Anywho, I eventually listened to my growling tummy and went to the kitchen to fix some oatmeal. About two hours after the oatmeal, I got a little hungry again so I perused the refrigerator and pantry looking for something to energize me for the gym visit I had planned a little later.

Greek yogurt…always a good choice. Apple…nah, I had two yesterday. Cinnamon raisin bagel thins..ooh pb&j! Wait..I used the last of my almond butter in my oatmeal. Greek yogurt..cinnamon raisin bagel thins..together?

Light bulb!

Here enters….the Healthy Cinnamon Roll for One

Cinnamon rolls have never been my favorite but sometimes…you just want a warm, ooey, creamy, cinnamony hunk of bread. And this recipe definitely covers all those requirements. It’s amazing the substitutions you can make that really don’t sacrifice flavor, but truly satisfy your cravings.

Mmm..now I want another…

Things You’re Gonna Need
  • 1 cinnamon raisin bagel thin
  • 1 tbs strawberry jelly/preserves
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
  • splash of milk (i used almond milk)
  • sweetener to taste (i used 1/2 packet of truvia but honey, sugar, etc. are good subs)

Take your bagel thin and tear each half into four pieces. On each piece, smear a small amount of the preserves on the inside half and layer the pieces until you get three layers, jelly side up, in a small bowl or plate. I layered them in a way that kind of looked like a cinnamon roll because I truly believe you eat with your eyes first.

Take the cinnamon and sprinkle on top of the layered pieces. Try and make sure to get some on the lower layers. Spread the love! Microwave the bowl for 20-30 seconds. When you take it out, the jelly should have slightly melted into the bread (It looks like the cinnamon/butter mixture that is found in cinnamon rolls).

See the preserve/cinnamon mixture?

Next, mix the yogurt and sweetener and put enough milk into it to make it creamy and thin enough to act as the “cream cheese frosting” of a cinnamon roll. Put in microwave for 15 seconds (watch it!) and then stir it to make sure the consistency is right. Pour until it completely covers the cinnamon roll (I ended up not using all of mine but some of us love the frosting more than others 😉 ). Put it in the microwave for 10-15 more seconds and then take that warm gooey thing out of the microwave and into your mouth!

It is sooo good! You must try it now because 1. it is so not bad for you and 2. it’s one portion! and 3. it tastes just as good as the pillsbury babes in the refrigerator section.
Leave a Reply

